Community Profiles Now Include More Places to Explore

We've enhanced the "Places" section of our Community Profiles to make it easier for you to discover popular nearby places.

Tennessee Gazetteer

Tennessee - Basic Information

Became a State: June 1, 1796 - 16th State
Population: 6,346,105 (2010 Census) - Ranks 17th
Land Area: 41,234.9 square miles - Ranks 34th
Population Density: 153.9 persons per square mile - Ranks 19th
Housing Units: 2,812,133 (2010 Census)
Housing Unit Density: 68.2 housing units per square mile
July 1, 2023 Estimates: Tennessee Data and Demographics
State Capital: Nashville
State Website: Official State of Tennessee Website
Tennessee State Flag
Tennessee state flag

Quick & Easy Ways to...

  1. Get Current Demographic Data for Cities, Towns, and ZIP Codes
  2. View Boundary Maps, for Cities, Towns, and ZIP Codes
  3. Locate Physical, Cultural, and Historical Features

Use HTL Address Research for a Tennessee Address and get...

Boundary Maps, Demographic Data, School Zones Review maps and data for the neighborhood, city, county, ZIP Code, and school zone. July 1, 2023, data includes home values, household income, percentage of homes owned, rented or vacant, etc.

Tennessee Neighborhood Explorer

NOTE: The BEST tool for researching a neighborhood is the HTL Address Research Tool (above). However, if you do not have an address, the Tennessee Neighborhood Explorer is the SECOND-BEST-TOOL to research a neighborhood (it provides a subset of the information that the Address Research Tool provides), but you can get a report by simply marking a spot on a map.

The Tennessee Neighborhood Explorer helps you to research any Tennessee neighborhood (census block group) and get home values, average household income, owner/renter/ occupancy rates, projected growth rates, boundary maps, comparisons to other communities, and much more.

Simply mark a spot on a state map and you'll have your results within 3-seconds!

Tennessee Neighborhood Explorer

Tennessee History

Tennessee State Flower
Tennessee State Flower - Iris

The area of Tennessee was originally part of North Carolina. North Carolina ceded the area of Tennessee in 1790 to the United States, and this area was organized as the “territory . . . south of the Ohio River” on April 12, 1790. Tennessee was admitted to the Union on June 1, 1796, as the 16th state. Upon resolution of a boundary dispute with Kentucky in 1820, Tennessee assumed generally the same boundary as the present state.

Census data for Tennessee are available separately beginning with the 1790 census. The 1790 population shown for Tennessee is for the Southwest Territory, which generally had the present state boundary.

Data for the legally established state of Tennessee are available beginning with the 1800 census.

Tennessee Geographical Areas

See: Geographic Terms & Concepts

Counties & County Equivalents

Interactive Map of Tennessee Counties | Static Overview Map of Tennessee Counties

There are 95 counties in Tennessee.  Hartsville-Trousdale County is a consolidated county/city government with a legal description of “Government” and has one set of government officials.  Lynchburg, Moore County is a consolidated county/city government with a legal description of “Metropolitan Government” and has one set of government officials.  Nashville-Davidson is a consolidated city with a legal description of “Metropolitan Government.” The remaining 92 counties are each governed by a county legislature.

County Subdivisions

There are 844 county subdivisions in Tennessee. Beginning with the 2010 Census the state of Tennessee is using the county commissioner districts as minor civil divisions (MCDs).  The county commissioner districts are nonfunctioning nongovernmental subdivisions of counties.  From the 1960 census until Census 2000 each of Tennessee’s counties had between 1 and 12 census county divisions (CCDs) depending on the size and extent of urbanization of the county.  Prior to 1960, the minor civil divisions used in the census were civil districts.

Places (Incorporated Cities, Towns & Census Designated Places (CDPs))

Tennessee State Bird
Tennessee State Bird - Mockingbird

Tennessee has 428 places, 347 incorporated places and 81 census designated places (CDPs). The incorporated places consist of 182 cities, 162 towns, 1 metropolitan government, 1 with no descriptor, and 1 balance of county for the portion of Nashville-Davidson consolidated city outside the separately incorporated places in Davidson County.  The minimum population for incorporation in Tennessee is 1,500.  Incorporated places are dependent within county subdivision.  Hartsville-Trousdale is coextensive with Trousdale County, Lynchburg-Moore County is coextensive with Moore County, and Nashville-Davidson is coextensive with Davidson County.

Tennessee has one consolidated city, Nashville-Davidson, which is coextensive with Davidson County. Nashville-Davidson contains the separately incorporated places of Belle Meade, Berry Hill, Forest Hills, Lakewood, and Oak Hill cities, and the part of Goodlettsville city and the part of Ridgetop town in Davidson County. 

Alphabetical List of Cities, Towns, CDPs and Other Populated Places
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q, R | S | T | U, V | W, X, Y, Z

Tennessee Civil Features

Tennessee Civil Features: Political Subdivisions, Native Areas, Land Grants, etc. - sorted by Census Class Codes.

Metropolitan and Micropolitan Statistical Areas

There are 7 Metropolitan and 17 Micropolitan Statistical Areas in Tennessee. TN Metopolitan & Micropolitan Areas

Tennessee ZIP Code Tabulation Areas

There are 631 ZIP Code tabulation areas (ZCTAs) in Tennessee. View Tennessee ZIP Codes and ZIP Code Maps.

School Districts

There are 16 elementary school districts, 16 secondary school districts, and 120 unified school districts in Tennessee.  The Department of Defense runs one school district in Tennessee. View Tennessee Public and Private Schools.

Congressional Districts

Tennessee has 9 congressional districts. An interactive map shows the contact information for each Representative as well as the boundaries for each Tennessee district. View Map of Tennessee Congressional Districts.

State Legislative Districts

There are 33 state senate districts and 99 state house districts in Tennessee.

Tennessee Physical, Cultural and Historic Features

  1. Tennessee Physical Features such as lakes, islands, streams, valleys, summits, etc.
  2. Tennessee Cultural Features such as schools, churches, hospitals, parks, dams, reservoirs, etc.
  3. Tennessee Historical Features and Tennessee Historic Landmarks

Tennessee Maps

  • To find a ZIP Code: input the address in the top-left search box of any ZIP Code Map.
  • To find the County: input the address in the top-left search box of the interactive TN map.
  • To find the School Attendance Zone: input the address in the top-left search box of any TN school map

Quick & Easy Ways to...

  1. Get Current Demographic Data for Cities, Towns, and ZIP Codes
  2. View Boundary Maps, for Cities, Towns, and ZIP Codes
  3. Locate Physical, Cultural, and Historical Features

Tennessee Census Data Comparison Tool

Compare Tennessee July 1, 2023 Data
Highest or Lowest: